Gnocchi with Sausage Sauce

For dinner tonight, I cooked up a simple dish that I really like, potato gnocchi topped with sausage meat tomato sauce!download-6

First, I cooked a pack of Ronzoni potato gnocchi in salted boiling water. You know they are done when they float. I strained them and set them aside until the sauce was ready.

*tip, if you put a tiny drop of oil in the cooking water, the pasta wont stick together once you strain it and let it sit for a few minutes while your sauce or whatever else is being finished.

Then, I “squeezed” the meat out of the casings of 3 sausage links (you can choose any kind you like, the leaner the better if you are following WW, I chose organic turkey sausage) to make ground sausage. I browned the meat in a pan and added it to one 15 ounce can of tomato sauce. I added my favorite seasonings (garlic and onion powder, pepper, salt, and Italian seasoning blend) I heated the sauce throughout and spooned it over 1 cup of cooked gnocchi. I always grate asiago cheese on top with my favorite microplane! Enjoy!

This recipe makes about 2-3 servings.

Weight watchers Points Plus: 5 points for 1 cup of gnocchi, 3 points for 3/4 cup of sauce; TOTAL: 8 points plus **Add a point or so for the cheese (optional)

The turkey sausage packs a punch of protein and the lycopene in the tomato sauce is rich in antioxidants!!

Only have a half cup of gnocchi with a huge salad on the side if you don’t have as many points left!

 

Leave a Reply

