Cape May Point

Today was a perfect Sunday…

I completed my errands and chores but was also able to take time to share a new experience with my husband.

We decided to take a 30 minute drive down to Cape May Point, the southern-most point of New Jersey, where we hiked a nature trail, checked out the lighthouse, and got a close-up look at a 70-year-old bunker from World War II.

It was a beautiful afternoon!

IMG_0520

IMG_0533

Observed some pretty white swans! We read about the migratory patterns of some of the birds that make stops in Cape May; some of them travel all the way from southern South America! Incredible!

IMG_0524

An up-close look at some of the plants…

IMG_0531

The amazing bunker! Tried to put ourselves into the shoes of the soldiers who were serving here, “back in the day.”

IMG_0536

Being at the tip of a body of land like this and looking out at the horizon reminds me to be less self-centered and to recognize the “bigness” of the world/nature around me. This is a good thing to remember on a Sunday before a full work week.

I would definitely recommend a visit to see these historic and beautiful landmarks!

Leave a comment