Idea Box

If I have 30 minutes of quiet time, it must not be wasted…

When I use these 30 minutes to flip through a magazine, I want to remember the thoughts, ideas, recipes, etc. that I like. In order to do so and keep ripped out pages from being scattered all over the house, I organized a concept I call an Idea Box.

IMG_0691

I always keep a sheet of labels and some scrap paper pieces in the box, paper-clipped together.

IMG_0689

I use the labels when I want to write down a thought or idea and stick it onto a torn out page.

download

I use the scrap papers if I think of something while reading that I want to jot down but don’t feel the need to keep the page.

IMG_0688

I put all the pages and ideas into the box and store it neatly in the closet. Fun to sift through it on a rainy day!

If you are reading the magazine on the beach or at a friends house (and they will let you rip the page out) tear the page out right there, put it in your purse, and when you get home, place it in your box. Simple.

This saves me from the I-don’t-want-to-throw-away-the-magazine-because-I-saw-something-in-it-I-liked dilemma which causes lots of clutter!! With this process I can recycle the magazine right away, no hanging around for 3 months and then throwing it away anyway because you have forgotten why you kept it (you know you do this)….

*Also, use scrap paper instead of post-its when you can, for any project…saves trees 🙂

One thought on “Idea Box

  1. What a cool idea. I want to do something like that when I read books cos I always want to find pages that inspired me but can’t be bothered flicking through the whole book.

Leave a Reply

