Damn right I support it

“I might not be the same, but that’s not important
No freedom till we’re equal, damn right I support it”

~Macklemore, Same Love

I was in the car a few nights ago when I heard a man rapping on the radio. I don’t generally choose to listen to rap music but the lyrics above, of Macklemore’s song, Same Love, hooked me. I cried when it was done because of several emotions; I was so proud of this guy for singing what he was singing. I was sad that a song even needed to be written about something that seems so easy, equal rights. I thought of people that I know, who still don’t understand how wrong it is to hate and how sad I am for them. I thought about how some people, like myself, are happily in love, sharing their love for each other with the world, and it is the best thing in their lives; haters are robbing this privilege from others.

This rapper is saying that he doesn’t need to belong to a group to support them. It’s about respect for every other person. It’s about empathy for their personal struggles, experiences, and decisions.

I researched Macklemore a little more and found out that he is a small town guy from Seattle. His original thoughts, organic ideas, and a talent to express them have made people want to listen to what he has to say.

Below is a link to the video for the song, which is another incredible piece of art! The video is so well done and inspirational within itself. Click the photo or click here to check it out.

Picture 14

*Thank you Ryan Lewis for the video

One thought on “Damn right I support it

  1. Pingback: GRAMMYs 2014!!! | The Torro Diaries

Leave a Reply

